People also ask

CLAT is held every year on the second Sunday of May.

While CLAT 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 were online exams, 2019 was an offline exam.

The CLAT fee for Unreserved/OBC/PWD and other categories is Rs. 4000 while for SC and ST category candidates it’s Rs. 3500.

No upper age limit is prescribed to appear in CLAT.

To be eligible to appear in CLAT, a candidate should have obtained Higher Secondary School/ Intermediate (10+2) or its equivalent certificate from a recognized Board with not less than 45% marks in aggregate (40% in case of SC and ST candidates).

Even a candidate appearing for his/her 12th standard exams is eligible to appear for CLAT, subject to the eligibility criteria being met at the time of the admission.

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is an all India entrance examination conducted for admission to the under-graduate and post-graduate degree programmes (LL.B. and LL.M.) of 21 National Law Universities. The 21 participating NLUs in the order of their establishment are:

  • National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)
  • National Academy of Legal Study & Research University of Law, Hyderabad (NALSAR)
  • National Law Institute University, Bhopal (NLIU)
  • The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)
  • National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)
  • Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)
  • Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)
  • Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)
  • Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala (RGNUL)
  • Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU)
  • National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)
  • National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO)
  • National University of Study & Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL)
  • National Law University & Judicial Academy, Assam, Guwahati (NLUJAA)
  • Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam (DSNLU)
  • The Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirappalli (TNNLS)
  • Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai (MNLU )
  • Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur (MNLU)
  • Maharashtra National Law University, Aurangabad (MNLU)
  • Himachal Pradesh National Law University, Shimla (HPNLU)
  • Dharamshastra National Law University, Jabalpur (MPDNLU)

Many private universities/law colleges also take into consideration the scores of CLAT. In fact, in 2019 even GGSIP University has taken admission based on CLAT scores.

There is a system of Negative Marking wherein 0.25 marks are deducted for each of the wrong answer.

Pattern of CLAT (Under-Graduate Programme)
Total Marks 200
Number of multiple-choice questions of one mark each – 200
Duration of Examination Two hours (2:00 hours)